Cllr Sam Corcoran elected leader of Cheshire East Council



Cllr Sam Corcoran, (pictured left) ward councillor for Sandbach Heath and East, has been elected to lead Cheshire East Council for the next four years.

Independent group leader Craig Browne, (pictured right) ward councillor for Alderley Edge, was appointed as deputy leader.

The council has been led by the Conservative party since its creation back in 2009.

Cllr Corcoran was elected as leader at the full council meeting yesterday (Wednesday 22nd May). Cllr Corcoran immediately appointed Cllr Browne as deputy leader.

Cllr Corcoran will now chair the cabinet of Cheshire East Council, and he is also the leader of the Labour group. He has been a Cheshire East borough councillor since 2011.

Upon his election as council leader, Cllr Corcoran said: “I am very honoured and proud to be elected to lead Cheshire East Council.

“I am pleased that my leadership started with consensus over a motion on the climate change emergency declared by Parliament and with a motion on changing the decision-making arrangements at Cheshire East Council.”

He added: “It is necessary to look inwards at the way the council has been operating – but we must also look outwards to provide the services that local residents need and to promote positive change. 

“The change of leadership provides an opportunity for change at Cheshire East Council and I hope that all staff, councillors and residents will join with me in seeking to grasp the opportunity for change for the better.”

Cllr Browne, who represents Alderley Edge ward, commented: “This is a landmark day for Cheshire East and the beginning of a new era of political cooperation in the interest of all of our residents across Cheshire East.

“I am deeply honoured to be able to serve our residents as their deputy leader and I will strive to ensure that the interests of all the communities of Cheshire East are heard and put at the heart of all that this council does.”

Cllr Corcoran also unveiled details of the council’s new cabinet, which will be in place until a new committee system of governance is introduced, (expected in May 2020).

The new cabinet comprises six Labour councillors and four independent councillors.


The cabinet members are: 

● Cllr Sam Corcoran (Lab) – leader and chair of the cabinet

● Cllr Craig Browne (Ind) – deputy leader

● Cllr Dorothy Flude (Lab) – children and family services

● Cllr Laura Jeuda (Lab) – health and adult social care

● Cllr Jill Rhodes (Lab) – public health and corporate services

● Cllr Mick Warren (Ind) – communities

● Cllr Toni Fox (Ind) – planning

● Cllr Brian Roberts (Lab) – highways and waste

● Cllr Nick Mannion (Lab) – environment and regeneration

● Cllr Amanda Stott (Ind) – finance, IT and communications



Subscribe here